Stepping Out of Comfort

gifts & talents

What are my unique gifts & talents? This is the question that lead me to the Listen Up conference at Two Rivers Church last weekend. It was all about spiritual gifts. These have always interested me, but I’ve always felt like there is nothing that I am persay talented at, nothing that I would consider a spiritual gift. But I know that’s a lie from the enemy. He wants us to believe any lie it takes to keep us from learning how to operate in our giftings, because he knows what we are capable of through the power of the Holy Spirit living in us once we embrace our giftings.

I truly believe that once we are ready to be in a position of surrender to God’s will for us, we are able to do so much more than we could ever imagine. For instance, 2 years ago, if you told me that I was going to be blogging and starting a nonprofit organization I would have probably thought, “Do you even know me? I’m not a writer!” But God’s plans are different than ours, and his plans involve stepping out of our comfort zone.

So at the end of the Listen Up conference, each person who signed up attended at 15 minute listening prayer session. This is awesome, and if you are unfamiliar with how this works, let me explain. You go into a room with around 4 other people. There is a period of silence where these people are just listening to hear/see what is given to them pertaining to your life. Then they tell you, and pray over you, and it is your job to  test and weigh what is said.

One of the ladies said she saw me dancing before the Lord. In the last recent months, God gave me a vision of me dancing in a field. What’s so crazy about this is that I can’t dance. Period. But I started going to some Zumba classes that my mom’s friend Sarah teaches, and I loved them and even bought the dvds! So hopefully this will be a good step for me to get comfortable dancing while also getting in shape since I still have weight to lose from having a baby! Check out Sarah’s inspirational blog, Fueled & Aflame.

I realized last weekend that I want to be constantly in a position of vulnerability to follow the promptings of the Holy Spirit, even when it’s out of my comfort zone. I want remain pure, to be filled with light because God’s spirit lives in me, that he will use me for his kingdom. These 2 verses come to mind:

“If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use. Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.” 2 Timothy 2:21 (NLT)

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16 (The message)

I strongly encourage you to watch the sessions from the Listen Up conference here at the Two Rivers Church website, although I just checked and they haven’t posted them yet. I also found a cool article about finding your God given talent.

So the next steps I need to make to launch Awakening Hearts Foundation are:

  • Apply to reserve the name
  • Draw the logo
  • Revise the mission & vision statments
  • Make a brouchure
  • Form a board of directors
  • Apply to get 501(c)(3) status
  • Form a timeline to stay on track

Hopefully I’ll have the brouchure mostly designed by the end of next week.

 

Do you know what any of your spritual gifts are? Comment & let me know 🙂

gifts-list-5<

Leave a Reply

