A Season of Change

Let me start out by saying that the last 2 weeks have been extremely crazy & stressful due to some major unexpected changes, unfortunately causing this to move to the back burner! However, things are starting to settle down a bit but will still be slightly hectic until probably sometime later next month, so I may not be able to post much or even really research much.

That being said, my parents got me this really awesome book for my birthday, The Everything Nonprofit Toolkit. After doing some reading, I’ve determined that I need to start recruiting people that want to be a part of starting this organization and then have a meeting with them. This is your chance to get involved! If you are interested in helping me out with getting this foundation started please email me at awakeningheartsfoundation@gmail.com. I’ll form a list and send out invitations to the first meeting. Just to clarify, this is not for the board of directors. That will come later. 

Knoxville Leadership Foundation has a monthly training class for nonprofit management, but I will not be able to attend that until next year once I have more paid time off. I emailed them asking what they recommend if you were unable to make it to the class at the scheduled time, and they replied that they have 4 hours of one on one coaching available per month for $125. I’m praying for God to provide!

I’m really excited to start contacting other non profit organizations in Knoxville to partner with once I get a little farther along. There are some really awesome ones. I actually contacted The Restoration House about their program for a friend of mine, and they responded and pointed me to several other resources that were available as well as their waiting is. I have no idea what it will be like once I am contacting them as a nonprofit but we shall find out later!

After this week my schedule is changing from Monday-Friday 8:30-5:30 to Monday-Thursday 11am-8pm & Friday 9am-6pm, so next week we will be working on getting into a new routine and forming some structure. I’m really excited for the shift change though because Isaac is always happiest in the mornings so it will be nice to spend more time with him then. It will also allow me to exercise before work! I only have about 15 pounds to lose now to get back to my prepregnancy weight, which is awesome considering I gained 80 pounds during my pregnancy. That was also partially due to pre-eclampsia, but still. I can’t wait to have the time to get in shape in the mornings with my new jogging stroller that a friend of my parents was so nice to give me for my birthday!

This week I put Isaac in daycare for the first time. We have had to use in home day child care previously but this is his first time starting in an actual daycare facility. It’s so convenient though and we are getting a good deal, which may or may not be because our friend/neighbor’s mom owns it 🙂 I only visited one other day care while I was on maternity leave and let’s just say it did not leave a favorable impression. This one is smaller and much cleaner and I felt really good about it, and I think it will probably be good for him to be around other babies and kids.

He is such a sweet baby! The other night I was teaching him to give me kisses. I would say, “Isaac, give mommy a kiss!” then make a kissy face, and he would smile & open his mouth and bring it to mine. He hasnt learned how to pucker his lips yet, but he’s only 6 1/2 months old so hey I’m glad he’s trying! He gets tired of it real quick though, and I have to catch him in the right mood to give kisses.

Look at my beautiful growing boy getting ready for daycare this morning! I have to dress him warmly, it’s cold in there!

056

I’m so thankful that God has blessed me with such a beautiful child to raise & prepare for God’s kingdom work! He is worth every stressful moment. Through all the chaos & confusion that has been going on the last couple weeks, I have to continually remind myself to just take one day at a time, just like Matthew 6:26-34 states,

25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30 And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith? 31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God[a] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. 34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

Time to pause, take a deep breath, and try my best to start relaxing in the peaceful presence of my Lord & savior each day with a joyful heart and thankful attitude! I have to start saturating myself more in God’s word; I can’t endure this without him. I have to admit that I’m guilty of letting some emotions of hopelessness creep in but I recognize the lies of the enemy. I’m so thankful to serve a faithful God, who gently reminds me of his love and mercy. One of my favorite bible verses is 2 Timothy 2:13, “If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.”

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

