No Greater Love

Have you ever had one of those eureka moments, when all of a sudden you feel like, “Oh, I see so clearly now; I don’t know how I didn’t notice before.” Well, that happened to me today. It was definitely a Holy Spirit moment and I just love it when those happen! After an exhausting day, I went with my two friends and their daughter to the pool. It was actually Isaacs first time swimming so I was so excited too see how he would react! I figured he’d love it because he loves baths. He loves to splash his hands in the water during baths and since he has been born he has not stop kicking his legs, which also reaffirmed my premonition that Isaac would enjoy the pool. It was an absolute success!! He LOVED it. He was kinda tired though because he didn’t take a good nap today, which you learn as a parent can sometimes be detrimental to their happiness, but he definitely still had a blast. He was funny because he would splash the water so hard that he would splash a bunch in this face and it would surprise him. I also let him swim on his belly. I kept his head above water and held him by the tummy in the water and he would kick, kick, kick. He played in as cute little float too! I’ll upload a video!

After we had swam for maybe 45 minutes we got out and were getting the babies ready to leave. My friends were deciding their plans for the weekend and we got to talking about blocking negative thoughts by replacing them with positive. I told them, “I know you guys are going through some tough times right now but after you argue you always make up because you love each other and want to make things work, so my suggestion to you is whenever you guys sense each other getting frustrated with the other, try to think about something you can do that would make the other person happy.” I actually practice this myself with my husband. For example, when he does something that makes me upset with him, instead of arguing with him, I will do the dishes because I know he is happy when the kitchen is clean. By the time I’m done I have now replaced my negative emotions with positive emotions by serving my husband out of my life for him. Now I’m not claiming to be perfect but it is something I am working towards perfecting through my relationship with God.

God is giving me the ability to see others the way that he does: broken people searching to fill a void in their heart. Everyone has learned different ways to fill that void, and for some people it works out fine, and for others it works out for a little while but there is still that void that they haven’t filled yet. The problem is that until they learn that the only way to truly fill that void is in a relationship with God through Jesus and his spirit in us, they will always act out of pride and selfish ambition, because they don’t know any different. Rhett Walker Band expresses it perfectly, “To my selfish pride, I became my own slave.” I love this song, it’s probably one of my favorites.

I’m starting to get a deeper understand what it means to love God with all your heart and the freedom living a life of serving others brings. True happiness is found when you take the time to love the least of these. And that’s what life is all about. Awakening hearts and setting captives free. It’s a lot easier to love people for who they are when you can see past the cover. Jesus shows us the importance of this in Matthew 4:7-18 in conversation with the woman at the well:

When a Samaritan woman came to draw water, Jesus said to her, “Will you give me a drink?”  (His disciples had gone into the town to buy food.) The Samaritan woman said to him, “You are a Jew and I am a Samaritan woman. How can you ask me for a drink?” (For Jews do not associate with Samaritans.[a]) Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.” “Sir,” the woman said, “you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get this living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did also his sons and his livestock?” Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” The woman said to him, “Sir, give me this water so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water.” He told her, “Go, call your husband and come back.”  “I have no husband,” she replied. Jesus said to her, “You are right when you say you have no husband. The fact is, you have had five husbands, and the man you now have is not your husband. What you have just said is quite true.”

Isn’t Jesus so cool? I just imagine him breaking everyone’s traditions to gently reveal who he is to this woman despised by Jew and Samaratins alike. His simple invitation to her, “I see your sins and I still chose you to spend eternity with me, just accept my offer.” What a beautiful love. There is nothing like the love of Jesus:

“I have loved you even as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love. 10 When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11 I have told you these things so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow! 12 This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. 13 There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you slaves, because a master doesn’t confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me. 16 You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name. 17 This is my command: Love each other. -John 15: 9-17

I want my life to be remembered as one dedicated to serving others to demonstrate the unfailing love and grace of the one true king. How do you want to be remembered?

Leave a Reply

